LeadingAge Texas Awards
Share |
AMWA Resources

2020 Awards Program sponsored by Remedi SeniorCare

Each year, the LeadingAge Texas Awards honor those who are committed to enhancing the field of aging services and who excel in leadership and advocacy. These awards celebrate those who embody our highest aspirations and inspire our admiration, all while making appreciable contributions within and beyond the walls of their communities.

LeadingAge Texas will honor this year's award winners during the Virtual Annual Conference & Solutions EXPO in October. Throughout the conference, attendees are invited to join LeadingAge Texas in celebrating these dedicated aging services professionals who provide impactful leadership, innovative programming, and outstanding support for aging Texans and the not-for-profit staff who serve them.

Many thanks to the 2020 Award Winners for placing quality first, delivering excellence in the work you do, and inspiring those around you to do the same!

2020 LeadingAge Texas Award Winners


Dr. Herbert Shore Outstanding Mentor
Cheryl Harding, President and CEO • James L. West Center for Dementia Care

Emerging Leader
Timothy Hohon, Technical Inspector, Capital Projects • Blue Skies of Texas

Excellence in Governance
Phillip Wentworth, Board Member • Presbyterian Village North

Excellence in Leadership
Dragoslav Lukic, Environmental Services Director • Buckner Retirement Services

Excellence in Research and Education
Janice Knebl, Medical Director • James L. West Center for Dementia Care

Inspirational Senior Texan 
Shudde Fath • Resident at Westminster

Public Trust 
Cathy Neece Brown, VP of Mission Support • James L. West Center for Dementia Care

Service Excellence
Ai Phuong Nguyen, Licensed Vocational Nurse • Morningside Ministries

Volunteer of the Year
Laura Mireles • Volunteer at Buckner Calder Woods


Excellence in Community Service
Hospice of Midland - Rays of Hope Children's Grief Centre

Excellence in the Workplace

Innovation in Care and Services
Presbyterian Village North

LeadingAge Texas Award Categories

CLICK HERE for an overview of the 2020 LeadingAge Texas Award categories and eligibility requirements.

The awards marked with * indicate both individuals AND organizations/groups are eligible to be nominated.


to our 2020 Awards Program sponsor,

Inspirational Senior Texan * Public Trust * Volunteer of the Year *

[view the 2019 LeadingAge Texas Award Winner videos] 

Thank you to our
LeadingAge Texas Network Representatives Council who collectively spearhead the 2019 Awards Program.

Interested in serving on the awards task force?
Contact Julianna today!